Connect with us

Super League News

Steve Prescott Man of Steel shortlist

For the first time ever, four First Utility Super League players have been shortlisted for the sport’s most prized individual honour, the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award.

The award is presented to the player who has had the biggest impact on the season and features Castleford Tigers hooker Daryl Clark, Warrington Wolves prop Chris Hill, Leeds Rhinos prop Jamie Peacock and St Helens hooker James Roby on the four-man shortlist.

Daryl Clark has enjoyed an impressive year with Castleford Tigers, helping them achieve their most successful season in the Super League era. The young hooker has been influential in his role and secured his place as one of the sport’s promising young talent.

Hill is shortlisted for the first time following an outstanding season for the Wolves. The England prop has been a dominant figure for Warrington in a hard fought season which sees them currently 80 minutes away from a place in the 2014 Grand Final at Old Trafford.

Veteran Jamie Peacock has been in imperious form for Leeds Rhinos in his 15th Super League season. Peacock’s consistency is highlighted by being shortlisted for the award for the last two consecutive years and is looking to become only the fourth player to win a second Man of Steel Award.

Roby has once again led from the front to guide his St Helens team to be crowned League Leaders. Roby consistently impresses and like Jamie Peacock he will be looking to win the prestigious award for the second time in his career.

The Steve Prescott Man of Steel is chosen by a poll of every Super League player, the results of which are considered by a specially-convened panel featuring a former Man of Steel, representatives from the players’ union and one representative each from the written and broadcast media. The presence of four players on the shortlist reflects the players’ vote and the expert views of the panel.

The Man of Steel has been presented at the end of every season since 1977 and this year has been renamed in memory of Steve Prescott, one of Rugby League’s most respected players who passed away 12 months ago after a long and courageous battle against a rare form of stomach cancer.

The 2014 Steve Prescott Man of Steel will be named at a gala dinner hosted at The Point, the Old Trafford home of Lancashire Cricket Club, on Wednesday October 8, where a number of other prestigious Super League awards will be presented, including Coach of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

The three nominees for the coveted 2014 First Utility Super League Young Player of the Year are Castleford Tigers hooker Daryl Clark, Wigan Warriors winger Dan Sarginson and Leeds Rhinos stand-off Liam Sutcliffe.

Clark, 21, is shortlisted for both awards following an outstanding season at hooker for the Tigers; Sarginson, 21, has impressed in his first season at the Warriors and is highly rated by his peers. Sutcliffe, 19, has slipped into the Rhinos side effortlessly and scored 11 tries in 24 appearances.

Players have to be under 21 years of age at the start of the season to be considered for the Young Player of the Year award.

The 2014 Steve Prescott Man of Steel will be crowned three days before the 2014 First Utility Super League Grand Final at Old Trafford, Manchester, on Saturday October 11 (6.00pm).

Tickets for the 2014 Super League Grand Final cost from just £20. Tickets behind the posts at both ends of the stadium have now been released and fans are advised to move quickly to secure the best seats. To purchase your tickets, please visit or call the Rugby League Ticket Hotline on 0844 856 1113.


Latest News


More in Super League News

Translate »