Connect with us

NRL News

Ben Hunt Broncos Player of the Year

BEN Hunt will play his first match in green and gold tomorrow after winning an amazing five awards including Player of the Year at last night’s Broncos’ Presentation Ball.

Hunt left the function at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre with an armful of trophies, but was heading straight for Brisbane Airport.

He flew to Cairns late last night to pick up a connecting flight to Papua New Guinea this morning where he will join the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII team.

They meet the PNG Kumuls in an exhibition match at Kokopo tomorrow afternoon, where Hunt and teammate Josh McGuire will try to play their way into the Kangaroos squad for this month’s Four Nations tournament.

Hunt, who was handed the number seven jersey late last year by coach Anthony Griffin, had an outstanding year in 2014 that included elevation to the Queensland Origin squad.

He also finished in the top five in the NRL’s Dally M count.

His super form was reflected in his dominance on the points tally for the Paul Morgan Medal, the award for Player of the Year.

On a 3-2-1 points basis judged by both players and coaching staff, Hunt was easily atop the table with 75 points.

He finished well ahead of second-placed Alex Glenn, who polled 48 points.

With 27 points, Hunt only had a two-point lead over Matt Gillett at the halfway mark of the season, but he left everyone behind in the back half of the year.

McGuire was third on 45 points, with Gillett and Corey Parker next on 40 points, and hooker Andrew McCullough just behind them on 39 points.

Hunt also won the Player’s Player trophy as well as the award for Best Back.

He was judged best player by the public in winning the XXXX Fan Player of the Year award, and also took home a bronze horse statue after playing his 100th game this season.

McGuire was named Best Forward, while Glenn won for being the Most Consistent player, and Ben Barba was awarded Play of the Year for a super try against the Bulldogs.



NYC Best Forward – Aaron Rockley

NYC Best Back – Ashley Taylor

NYC Players’ Player – Jai Arrow

NYC Player of the Year – Joe Ofahengaue

XXXX Fan Player of the Year – Ben Hunt

Special Presentation – 100 Games – Ben Hunt

Special Presentation – 100 Games – Josh Hoffman

Special Presentation – 100 Games – Josh McGuire

Special Presentation – 100 Games – Matt Gillett

Special Presentation – 200 Games- Sam Thaiday

Special Presentation – Farewell – Ben Hannant

Special Presentation – Retirement – Jharal Yow Yeh

NRL Most Consistent – Alex Glenn

NRL Best Back – Ben Hunt

NRL Best Forward – Josh McGuire

NRL Play of the Year – Ben Barba

Clubman of the Year – Scot Czislowski

NRL Player’s Player – Ben Hunt

NRL Player of the Year – Ben Hunt


Latest News


More in NRL News

Translate »