Connect with us

NRL Match Reports

Experienced Storm gain spot in Prelim Final

Sydney Roosters 18
Tries: 3- Sio Siua Taukeiaho, Shaun Kenny- Dowall and Blake Ferguson
Goals: 2/3- James Maloney
Penalty Goals: 1/1- James Maloney

Melbourne Storm 20
Tries:3- Marika Koroibete, Kurt Mann and Tim Glasby
Goals: 3/3- Cameron Smith
Penalty Goals: 1/1- Cameron Smith



The Melbourne Storm have beaten the Sydney Roosters in an incredible qualifying finals match at Allianz Stadium, 20-18.

The Sydney Roosters 12 game winning streak came to an end when a strong and determined Melbourne Storm team showed up on Friday night. Roosters have repeated the same thing as last year after losing the qualifying finals game against Penrith Panthers. The Sydney Roosters were favourites also to win last year but Jamie Soward set the Panthers up with a field goal and guided his team from behind to upset the Roosters.

Melbourne Storm came out in the first half and in the first 5 minutes of play, Cooper Cronk managed to knock on. But 5 minutes later they came back and Marika Koroibete scored the first try of the night in the left corner for the Storm. Cameron Smith made no mistake and the Melbourne Storm had an early lead of 6-0. The momentum continued for the Storm as Blake Green kicked a 40/20 in the 12th minute for his team.

In the 19th minute Sydney Rooster Sio Siua Taukeiaho was next to score after his strength got him across the line. James Maloney’s conversion was successful to level the score 6 all.

Sydney Roosters were next to add points after James Maloney kicked a penalty field goal, extending the Roosters lead 8-6.


Half- time- Sydney Roosters 8- 6 Melbourne Storm


Melbourne Storm were unlucky to begin with in the second half as they lost Marika Koroibete for the rest of the game due to a lacerated Achilles tendon. They then put on a strong performance, receiving a penalty in the 48th minute and Cameron Smith easily slots it over the posts to add the 2, leveling the score again 8 all. 6 minutes later Kurt Mann was over the line to regain the lead as he crosses in the left corner. Cameron Smith converts to extend the Storm’s lead 14-8.

Shaun Kenny- Dowell proved his worth as the next try scorer for the Sydney Roosters after Michael Jennings gets into the open field running through the weak defence as Hastings put’s in a perfect kick for Kenny- Dowell to score. Easily could be titled try of the season through the brilliant footwork of Jennings and Hastings kicking game. James Maloney unsuccessfully converts keeping it a 2 point game as Storm remained in the lead 14-12.

Melbourne Storm continued to impress as Tim Glasby scored a try after Matt Duffie batted the ball back in the 71st minute. Cameron Smith made no mistake as Storm took the lead 20-12.

The Sydney Roosters were not finished and did not give up, in the 73rd minute Blake Ferguson crossed over the try-line and James Maloney converted taking it back to a two point margin.

Unfortunately for the Sydney Roosters the Melbourne Storm defence was too strong and they held on to the lead 20-18, winning this qualifying final going straight through to the preliminary game.


Full Time- Sydney Roosters 18- 20 Melbourne Storm


My name is Hannah McGrory and I am 21 years old. I am passionate about sport and believe my knowledge and interest of Australian sports can be shared within this blog (

Latest News


More in NRL Match Reports

Translate »