Connect with us

NRL Match Preview

Preview: Parramatta Eels vs. North Queensland Cowboys

After winning one of the toughest games of round 1 the Cowboys will head south to Pirtek Stadium on Saturday to face a complete Eels side. The Eels will be looking for revenge after their loss last year when the Cowboys made a thirty point comeback.

Last Time Out

The Eels were unfortunate in round 1 because they started without their star recruit, Kieran Foran, and lost Corey Norman and had to play half the game with a back-up half and a forward steering the ship. Despite this obstacle they managed to keep the Broncos, a team that has been tipped to win the premiership, under 20 points which probably wouldn’t have happened in 2015. The toughness they showed in adversity should give them a lot of confidence heading into the rest of the season with their two halves playing.

The Cowboys kicked off the 2016 season by defeating the Sharks in one of the most competitive games so far. They proved that they truly are contenders to go back to back. However, that was in Townsville and this week they will face an Eels team ready to prove their worth

Key Battles

Kieran Foran vs Jonathan Thurston

Get ready for a masterclass of halfback talent with two of the games’ best going head to head. They are both international halves, both captains of their team, one has 3 Dally M’s, and the other has the potential to win one of his own.

Tepai Moeroa vs Jason Taumalolo

Moeroa is a young star who has the potential to become of the best forwards in the game while Jason Taumalolo is a big fella who has already been there and done that. Moeroa will need to take his talent to another level to deal with the massive Cowboys forward pack. They both have solid players surrounding them in support. It should be a impressive war.


The Eels left edge should be able to run circles around the Cowboys right defense; however, that has never stopped the Cowboys from winning before. The Cowboys pack will be too devastating for the Eels to handle and that is where the match will be won.

Cowboys to win by 8.


1 Michael Gordon
2 Semi Radradra
3 Michael Jennings
4 Brad Takairangi
5 Clint Gutherson
6 Corey Norman
7 Kieran Foran (c)
8 Junior Paulo
9 Nathan Peats
10 Tim Mannah (c)
11 Manu Ma’u
12 Beau Scott
13 Tepai Moeroa

14 Kaysa Pritchard
15 Peni Terepo
16 Danny Wicks
17 Ken Edwards
18 Daniel Alvaro

1 Lachlan Coote
2 Kyle Feldt
3 Justin O’Neill
4 Kane Linnett
5 Antonio Winterstein
6 Michael Morgan
7 Johnathan Thurston (c)
8 Matthew Scott (c)
9 Jake Granville
10 James Tamou
11 Gavin Cooper
12 Ethan Lowe
13 Jason Taumalolo

14 Rory Kostjasyn
15 John Asiata
16 Scott Bolton
17 Ben Hannant

Latest News


More in NRL Match Preview

Translate »