Connect with us

NRL Match Preview

PREVIEW: Brisbane Broncos v Wests Tigers

Mitchell Moses is a Tiger no longer as the men from Concord march to Suncorp to take on a Broncos outfit on a high after beating Manly.


The stars for the Rabbitohs aligned as Sam Burgess, Adam Reynolds and Cody Walker all had a great day out against the impotent Tigers, Rusty’s men coming in hard on attack and defense to quash their young opponents in their most convincing win of the year 28-8. The Tigers were on the wrong end of an inspired Rabbitohs performance and could only stand and watch.

An injury to Tom Trbojevic when Manly were leading would see them slide, much to the pleasure of Wayne Bennett and Brisbane who pounced on the lack of a starting fullback to come back and win 24-14. Darius Boyd and co are looking to firmly entrench themselves in the top four and could use a for and against boost.


Jack Littlejohn and Luke Brooks come against Anthony Milford and Kodi Nikorima, and here we have four halves who can attack quite well but struggle on the other side of the ball. Big men always have a good time running against some halves in the comp and the little pivots from Brisbane and the Tigers often find themselves on the floor – hopefully it’s in a tackle rather than being trampled on Friday.

Andrew McCullough has been the model of consistency for the Broncos and duels with ex-Rooster Matt McIlwrick, who is not as fancied as his counterpart up on Red Hill. The Tigers have struggled for go forward and if they can get some good service from McIlwrick it’ll go a long way against a bigger Bronco pack.


The Broncos have struggled against mediocre Tigers outfits before though it is hard to see the black and orange getting the better of Brisbane up in Suncorp on a Friday – the Broncos on a Friday is bread and butter for rugby league. The Broncos by 22 – or more if they’re on.


Broncos: 1. Darius Boyd 2. Corey Oates 3. James Roberts 4. Tautau Moga 5. Jordan Kahu 6. Anthony Milford 7. Kodi Nikorima 8. Korbin Sims 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Adam Blair 11. Sam Thaiday 12. Matt Gillett 13. Josh Mcguire 14. Alex Glenn 15. Joe Ofahengaue 16. Herman Essese 17. David Mead 18. Ben Hunt 19. George Fai 20. Jaydn Su’a 21. Jonus Pearson

Tigers: 1. James Tedesco 2. David Nofoaluma 3. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak 4. Moses Suli 5. Kevin Naiqama 6. Jack Littlejohn 7. Luke Brooks 8. Aaron Woods 9. Matt McIlwrick 10. Sauaso Sue 11. Joel Edwards 12. Chris Lawrence 13. Elijah Taylor 14. Tim Grant 15. Josh Aloiai 16. Kyle Lovett 17. Jacob Liddle 18. Jj Felise 19. Matthew Eisenhuth 20. Jordan Rankin 21. Michael Chee-Kam

James Morgan is an aspiring writer, and also a mad Bulldogs supporter in the National Rugby League

Latest News


More in NRL Match Preview

Translate »