Connect with us

Hull FC


Semi-final two is here in a match that sees Leeds face Hull in a showdown, with the winners meeting Castleford at Old Trafford for the 2017 Super League Grand Final next Saturday night.



Already guaranteed a home semi-final, Leeds travelled to the John Smith’s Stadium in Huddersfield where they beat the Giants 36-12. Tries from Watkins, McGuire and Keinhorst gave the Rhinos a 16-6 lead at the half-time break with Lawrence added a try for the Giants. The second half didn’t get any better for the Huddersfield side as Leeds added a further three tries to seal the victory.

Hull FC produced a dominant display over leaders Castleford, beating the Tigers 48-16. Castleford did rest a number of players but Hull played the team that was in front of them. Jake Connor scored a hat-trick for the Black and Whites, a game which saw them run in eight tries with another brace for Shaul. Castleford were in with a hat-trick from young Egodo but Hull were simply too much for the Tigers.



14th April: Hull FC 24-52 Leeds Rhinos

14th July: Leeds Rhinos 10-7 Hull FC

29th July: Hull FC 43-24 Leeds Rhinos (Cup Semi-Final)

31st August:  Leeds Rhinos 38-26 Hull FC



Leeds will have some changes next year with their established half-back pairing moving on to pastures new. Both Rob Burrow and Danny McGuire could potentially be playing their last ever games for Leeds so neither one will want to fall before the final hurdle. Matt Parcell is another figurehead for the Rhinos, being the only Leeds player included in this year’s Dream Team. The hooker has had a tremendous season, really adding to both the Rhino’s attack and defence.

Hull also have many changes happening next year. Both Fonua and Michaels going back to Australia as well as the retiring Gareth Ellis; all three have been great additions to the Hull FC side since their arrivals. Like Leeds, Hull will want to give them the send-off that they deserve by making it to Old Trafford. Albert Kelly, along with Fonua, were Hull’s members in the SL Dream Team after both players having stellar seasons for the Black and Whites.



Leeds 19-man squad

Leeds make three changes to their squad. Brett Ferres, Stevie Ward and Brad Singleton all come into the 19-man squad. Head coach Brian McDermott will choose from:

Carl Ablett, Tom Briscoe, Rob Burrow, Adam Cuthbertson, Brett Ferres, Mitch Garbutt, Ashton Golding, Ryan Hall, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Jimmy Keinhorst, Danny McGuire, Joel Moon, Anthony Mullally, Matt Parcell, Brad Singleton, Liam Sutcliffe, Jack Walker, Stevie Ward, Kallum Watkins.

Hull FC 19-man squad

Hull make just the one change with Steve Michaels making way for Jordan Thompson’s return to the squad, which is unfortunate with his impending departure from the club. Coach Lee Radford will pick his team from:

Josh Bowden, Jake Connor, Gareth Ellis, Brad Fash, Mahe Fonua, Chris Green, Josh Griffin, Danny Houghton, Albert Kelly, Sika Manu, Mark Minichiello, Jamie Shaul, Marc Sneyd, Fetuli Talanoa, Scott Taylor, Jordan Thompson, Carlos Tuimavave, Danny Washbrook, Liam Watts.



Date: Friday 29th September

Kick-off: 7.45pm

Venue: Headingley Carnegie Stadium

Referee: Phil Bentham

Latest News


More in Hull FC

Translate »