Matt Elliott resigns as Warriors coach

Matt Elliott is the first coach to fall in the 2014 National Rugby League season after resigning from the New Zealand Warriors.

Elliott departs the Warriors having coached the side on thirty-two occasions for thirteen wins.  His National Rugby League record stands at 265 matches for 121 wins, 141 losses and three draws, having also coached Canberra and Penrith over a twelve year period.

It was being reported on Social Media last night that Elliott was about to be sacked by the club this week.  This was in light of New Zealand Warriors 37-6 loss to Cronulla at Remondis Stadium on Saturday.

When asked about the teams performance after last week’s loss, Elliott was at a loss to work out why the Warriors put in such a poor performance.

“Didn’t see any of that in our preparation at all. We’re going to have to do some heavy research into that”, Elliott said at the post-match press conference.

New Zealand Warriors released a statement confirming Andrew McFadden would be interim coach for the rest of the season

The Vodafone Warriors today announced head coach Matthew Elliott has resigned with immediate effect.

Assistant coach Andrew McFadden has been appointed acting head coach to the end of the 2014 NRL season.

In accepting the resignation, Vodafone Warriors chairman Bill Wavish acknowledged Elliott’s personal qualities, skill and intellect.

“I have learned a lot from Matt and am saddened that he has made this decision. It speaks volumes of his character and integrity and I personally wish him well,” he said.

In announcing McFadden’s interim appointment, Vodafone Warriors chief executive Wayne Scurrah said: “Andrew is widely recognised as a leader of the next generation of coaches in the very competitive NRL competition.”

The Vodafone Warriors have their third home game of the season next Sunday (April 13) when they host Canterbury-Bankstown at Eden Park (4.00pm kick-off).

McFadden will meet the media later today along with Scurrah, general manager football operations Dean Bell, captain Simon Mannering and senior players Sam Rapira and Thomas Leuluai.

Elliott joins a host of coaches that have joined the New Zealand Warriors and ultimately moved on in quick succession.  It’s worthy to note when he took over, some players needed convincing that Elliott was the right choice as they preferred then interim coach Tony Iro for the permanent role.


[table] Coach, , ,
John Monie (1995-1997), 60 games, 33 wins
Frank Endacott (1997-1998), 33 games, 13 wins
Mark Graham (1999-2000), 50 games, 18 wins
Daniel Anderson (2001-2004), 92 games, 51 wins
Tony Kemp (2004-2005), 37 games, 13 wins
Ivan Cleary (2006-2011), 154 games, 77 wins
Brian McClennan (2012), 22 games, 8 wins
Tony Iro (2012), 2 games, 0 wins
Matt Elliott (2013-2014), 32 games, 14 wins [/table]

Other Articles

NRL News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »