NRL match preview: South Sydney Rabbitohs vs Melbourne Storm

Date:Friday, May 16 2014
Venue:ANZ Stadium

Rabbitohs: 1.Greg Inglis 2.Alex Johnston 3.Dylan Walker 4.Kirisome Auva’a 5.Bryson Goodwin
6.John Sutton (c) 7.Adam Reynolds 8.George Burgess 9.Apisai Koroisau 10.Dave Tyrell 11.Kyle Turner 12.Ben Te’o 13.Sam Burgess Interchange: 14.Cameron McInnes 15.Jason Clark 16.Chris McQueen 17.Luke Burgess 18.Joel Reddy 19.Ben Lowe

Storm: 1.Billy Slater 2.Sisa Waqa 3.Will Chambers 4.Kurt Mann 5.Young Tonumaipea 6.Joel Romelo 7.Cooper Cronk 8.Jesse Bromwich 9.Cameron Smith (c) 10.Bryan Norrie 11.Kevin Proctor 12.Ryan Hoffman
13.Ryan Hinchcliffe Interchange: 14.Kenny Bromwich 15.Tohu Harris 16.Dayne Weston 17.George Rose

Two modern day heavyweights do battle at ANZ Stadium on Friday night, both teams coming off much-needed wins as neither side are truly playing to their potential, with each boasting a 5 win, 4 loss record.

The 5th-placed Rabbitohs are coming off a 40-18 thumping of the Gold Coast Titans and beat the Storm twice in 2013. The Storm are not playing as we would expect them to and are sitting in eighth spot, with 4 teams snapping at their heels. They have named Joel Romelo at five eighth to make his debut for the club, replacing Ben Hampton.

The battle between two of the best fullbacks of the last 30 years will be reason enough to watch this one. Billy Slater has been the best fullback for the past decade but Greg Inglis’ form over the past few seasons has been unbelievable. Which ever fullback wins this salivating individual duel will go along way to winning the game for their team.

A really tough one to pick, but at ANZ Stadium, the Rabbitohs might have a slight edge, and they will win this one, but by less than 10 points.

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »