Origin III teams announced

Cooper Cronk returns for Queensland Maroons as they attempt to win the State of Origin dead-rubber at Suncorp Stadium on July 9.  Cronk broke his arm in the opening game when going in to make a tackle.  He is confident that his arm will be alright despite not playing since.

In other Queensland selection news, Corey Parker returns after missing the second game through an eye socket injury.  Will Chambers has been selected as Brent Tate’s replacement on the wing.  Matt Scott will be missing, with Brisbane Broncos’ Josh McGuire named in the seventeen.  Michael Morgan is the eighteen man.  Chambers, McGuire and possibly Morgan are set to make their debut at Origin level.

XXXX Queensland Maroons

  1. Billy SLATER – (Melbourne Storm)
  2. Darius BOYD – (Newcastle Knights)
  3. Greg INGLIS – (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  4. Justin HODGES – (Brisbane Broncos)
  5. Will CHAMBERS – (Melbourne Storm)
  6. Johnathan THURSTON – (North Queensland Cowboys)
  7. Cooper CRONK – (Melbourne Storm)
  8. Jacob LILLYMAN – (NZ Warriors)
  9. Cameron SMITH (c) – (Melbourne Storm)
  10.  Nate MYLES – (Gold Coast Titans)
  11.  Aidan GUERRA – (Sydney Roosters)
  12.  Sam THAIDAY – (Brisbane Broncos)
  13.  Corey PARKER – (Brisbane Broncos)
  14.  Daly CHERRY-EVANS – (Manly Sea Eagles)
  15.  Ben TE’O – (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  16.  Matt GILLETT – (Brisbane Broncos)
  17.  Dave TAYLOR – (Gold Coast Titans)
  18.  Josh McGUIRE – (Brisbane Broncos)
  19.  Michael MORGAN – (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach: Mal Meninga

New South Wales Blues welcome back Josh Morris as he replaces injured Michael Jennings in the centres.  Morris was one of the Blues outstanding players in their win at Suncorp in Origin I.  James McManus was the surprise inclusion for Will Hopoate on the wing, ahead of Penrith’s Josh Mansour.  Boyd Cordner will start from the bench with Anthony Watmough serving suspension for a dangerous tackle in their Sydney win.

Jarryd Hayne – Parramatta Eels
James McManus – Newcastle Knights
Josh Dugan – St George Illawarra Dragons
Josh Morris – Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
Daniel Tupou – Sydney Roosters
Josh Reynolds – Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
Trent Hodkinson – Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
Aaron Woods – Wests Tigers
Robbie Farah – Wests Tigers
Paul Gallen – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks (c)
Ryan Hoffman – Melbourne Storm
Beau Scott – Newcastle Knights
Greg Bird – Gold Coast Titans

James Tamou – North Queensland Cowboys
Trent Merrin – St George Illawarra Dragons
Boyd Cordner – Sydney Roosters
Luke Lewis – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »