NRL Match Preview: Canberra Raiders vs St George Illawarra Dragons

Date:Saturday, August 16, 2014
Venue: GIO Stadium

Raiders:1.Jordan Rapana 2.Bill Tupou 3.Jarrod Croker 4.Jack Wighton 5.Edrick Lee 6.Anthony Milford
7.Josh McCrone 17.Shannon Boyd 9.Glen Buttriss 10.Brett White (c) 11.Josh Papalii 12.Jarrad Kennedy
13.Matt McIlwrick Interchange: 14.Mitch Cornish 15.Joel Edwards 16.Dane Tilse 8.Paul Vaughan

Dragons:1.Gerard Beale 2.Brett Morris 3.Josh Dugan 4.Peter Mata’utia 5.Jason Nightingale 6.Gareth Widdop 7.Benji Marshall 8.Ben Creagh (c) 9.Mitch Rein 10.Jack de Belin 11.Leeson Ah Mau 12.Joel Thompson 13.Trent Merrin Interchange: 14.Mike Cooper 15.Tyson Frizell 16.Will Matthews 17.Jack Stockwell 19.Kyle Stanley 20.Bronson Harrison

The St George Illawarra Dragons head to GIO Stadium in Canberra looking to keep their increasingly slim finals hopes alive. In fact even if they win, their chances will be no clearer.

Standing in their way is one of the most remarkable records in the modern game. The Dragons haven’t won in the nation’s capital since way back in the year 2000. In fact the Dragons have won just once in the past 17 clashes between the two clubs.

Ricky Stuart has named an unchanged side, while for the Dragons, Gerard Beale moves to fullback and Peter Mata’utia comes into the side at centre. Tyson Frizell has been named on an extended bench after overcoming a long-term ankle injury, while Kyle Stanley has also been named.

The Raiders have had a very ordinary season and have won just 5 games all year, but the past has shown us that form matters little when these two teams meet. However the Dragons showed enough last week to show me that they can record their first win in Canberra in a very long time.

Dragons by 12.


[socialpoll id=”2215520″]

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »