England Four Nations Squad Announced

England coach Steve McNamara has named his 24 man squad to travel down under for the Four Nations and has selected Sean O’Loughlin to captain the side.

The Wigan loose forward takes over from Kevin Sinfield after he announced his retirement from international rugby league in September.

England’s first game is against Samoa on October 25th as they look to win their first major tournament in Australia since 1990 when the then Great Britain side defeated New Zealand.

There are some notable absentees in the squad as James Roby, Michael McIlorum and Ben Westwood are all set to undergo surgery while Saints’ winger Tommy Makinson is left out for Joe Burgess.

13 of the 24 named were members of the World Cup squad which reached the semi-finals before being beaten by New Zealand in the dying seconds 20-18.

Nine of the 11 players who weren’t involved in the World Cup squad are uncapped which is testament to the young talent McNamara has at his disposal.

The biggest test for the side will be how they cope without arguably their most influential player, Sam Burgess, who signed off his rugby league career with a heroic display to win the NRL Premiership and the Clive Churchill Medal.

The game against Samoa will be the first competitive match England have played since their World Cup loss to the Kiwis.

McNamara and his men will hope they have what it takes to beat Australia and New Zealand to make up for some of the World Cup disappointment.

England squad: George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Joe Burgess (Wigan Warriors), Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Josh Charnley (Wigan Warriors), Daryl Clark (Castleford), Mike Cooper (St George Illawarra Dragons), Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors), Brett Ferres (Huddersfield Giants), James Graham (Canterbury Bulldogs), Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos), Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos), Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves), Josh Hodgson (Hull KR), Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors), Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves), Dan Sarginson (Wigan Warriors), Michael Shenton (Castleford Tigers), Matty Smith (Wigan Warriors), Joel Tomkins (Wigan Warriors), Sam Tomkins (NZ Warriors), Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos), Joe Westerman (Hull FC), Elliott Whitehead (Catalans Dragons), Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons).

England Four Nations Squad Announced was originally published on WeLoveLeague

Other Articles

International Rugby League News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »