Warriors Name 22-Man Squad for Auckland Nines

The New Zealand Warriors have released their 22-man squad for the upcoming Dick Smith Auckland Nines tournament, set to take place at Eden Park on January 31 and February 1.

The squad will be trimmed to 18 closer to the start of the tournament but is a formidable list of players that includes premiership winners, the current Golden Boot winner, and a couple of new recruits.

Both Bodene ThompsonRyan Hoffman will make their debut for the Warriors at the tournament while 2014 Golden Boot winner Shaun Johnson will captain the team.

Powerhouse winger Manu Vatuvei, English fullback Sam Tomkins, Simon Mannering, Chad Townsend, Matt Allwood and Ben Matulino were also among the players to be named.

The squad features several members of the club’s premiership-winning Holden Cup side including prop or second rower Sam Lisone, centre Ken Maumalo and five eighth Nathaniel Roach.

The Warriors open their campaign with a game against the Gold Coast Titans, followed by a game against the Canberra Raiders later on day one, before playing the Wests Tigers on day two.

New Zealand Warriors 2015 Dick Smith Auckland Nines Squad

Shaun Johnson (c)
Matthew Allwood
Nathan Friend
Ben Henry
Ryan Hoffman
Sebastine Ikahihifo
Solomone Kata
Ngani Laumape
Sam Lisone
Tuimoala Lolohea
Sione Lousi
Simon Mannering
Suaia Matagi
Ben Matulino
Ken Maumalo
Dominique Peyroux
Nathaniel Roache
Bodene Thompson
Sam Tomkins
Chad Townsend
Manu Vatuvei
Jonathan Wright

Other Articles

NRL News
NRL News
Under The Pump in 2015

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »