Rabbitohs name Auckland Nines squad

The South Sydney Rabbitohs have unveiled their 18-man squad for the upcoming Dick Smith Auckland Nines,taking place at Eden Park on January 31 and February 1, with Isaac Luke set to take the reigns as captain.

New Zealand born Luke was said to have been in the ear of Souths coach Michael Maguire incessantly pushing for the opportunity to turn out at the Auckland spectacle, and the Kiwi internationals’ wish has been granted, with the captaincy to go with it.

In a surprise addition, former Kangaroo and New South Wales Origin rep Matt King has been named in the side. The retired King last pulled on a Bunnies jumper in 2013.

Opposing teams will breathe a sigh of relief with superstar fullback Greg Inglis’ name nowhere to be found. The Bunnies aren’t short on star-power however, with the likes of George Burgess, Adam Reynolds, Chris McQueen, and freshly-capped Kangaroo Dylan Walker named in the side.

The Rabbitohs went 2-1 in pool play last year, bowing out in the quarter finals to the Warriors. They kick off their 2015 campaign in game 4 against Waiheke pool opponents the Panthers at 1:45pm Saturday, local time. They also play the defending champions, Cowboys, on day one and then play the Storm on day two.

South Sydney Rabbioths 2015 Auckland Nines Squad:

1. Joel Reddy

2. Bryson Goodwin

3. Dylan Walker

4. Matt King

5. Chris McQueen

6. Issac Luke (c)

7. Adam Reynolds

8. George Burgess

9. Angus Crichton

10. Ben Lowe

11. Jason Clark

12. Tom Hughes

13. Dave Tyrrell

14. Aaron Gray

15. Kyle Turner

16. Cameron McInnes

17. Chris Grevsmuhl

18. Setefano Taukafa






Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »