BLOG: NRL trials week 2

Week two of the National Rugby League trials is focused on the All Stars game on the Gold Coast this Friday night.  There’s speculation that the game will move from the glitter strip after this year with poor pre-sales.

St George-Illawarra have named their squad to travel to England for the rugby league World Club Championship. Check out their squad here.


Parramatta have named a strong side for their trip to Darwin to take on the Wests Tigers.  Anthony Watmough, Will Hopoate and Corey Normal will travel with the side but not play.  They are part of a team promoting rugby league in the top end.  Chris Sandow and Brad Takairangi are on the injury list after ankle problems during the Auckland Nines.

Their squad is: Isaac De Gois, David Gower, Darcy Lussick, Cody Nelson, Pauli Pauli, Peni Terepo, Danny Wicks, Richie Fa’aoso, Ryan Morgan, Vai Toutai, Adam Quinlan, Halauafu Lavaka, Bureta Faraimo, Beau Champion, Ryan Matterson, Joseph Ualesi, John Folau, Ben Crooks, Fabian Goodall, Zach Dockar Clay, Junior Paulo, Joshua Aloiai, Luke Kelly, Tim Mannah. Additional traveling squad: Manu Ma’u, Anthony Watmough, Tepai Moeroa, Eric Newbigging, Daniel Alvaro, Tui Kamikamica, Will Hopoate, Reece Robinson, Corey Norman

The Wests Tigers start life under new coach Jason Taylor and have named an almost full strength squad.  Luke Brooks is unavailable due to All Stars selection.   James Tedesco, David Nofoaluma and Tim Moltzen are on the injured list.  Kevin Naiqama and Josh Drinkwater are newcomers to the club named in their first official trial of 2015.

Their squad is: Robbie Farah (capt.), Nathan Brown, Josh Drinkwater, Jack Buchanan, Manaia Cherrington, Keith Galloway, Dene Halatau, Delouise Hoeter, Chris Lawrence, Lamar Liolevave, Kyle Lovett, Shannon McDonnell, Mitchell Moses, Kevin Naiqama, Pat Richards, Brenden Santi, Ava Seumanufagai, Tim Simona, Curtis Sironen, Sauaso Sue, Martin Taupau, Aaron Woods.


South Sydney return to their sacred home of Redfern Oval when they host the QLD Cup holders Northern Pride.  It’s a relatively inexperienced site with only a smattering of National Rugby League players.  One being John Sutton, under pressure after an off field incident in Arizona during training camp.  Glenn Stewart makes an appearance for his new club.

South Sydney side: Damon Goolagong, Setefano Taukafa, Aaron Gray, Daryl Millard, Sam Manuleleua, Liam Coleman, Jordie Hedges, Thomas Burgess, Scott Sorensen, PJ Los’e, Glenn Stewart, John Sutton (c), Ben Lowe. Interchange: Wartovo Puara, John Olive, Cheyne Whitelaw, Angus Crichton, Tom Hughes, Thompson Teteh, Jack Gosiewski

Northern Pride squad: Linc Port, Luke George, Brett Anderson (c), Dean McGilvray, Semi Tadulala, Ben Jeffries, Sam Obst, Sheldon Powe Hobbs, Jason Roos (c), Jack Svendsen, Graham Clark, Vaipuna Tia-Kilifi, Tom Hancock. Interchange: Ryan Ghietti, Travis Peeters, Nathan Wales, Jordan Biondi-Odo, David Murphy, Keelan White, Jared Verney, Denzel King, PJ Webb

Melbourne are playing a young side against their QLD Cup side Easts Tigers at Gosch’s Paddock.  Among notable inclusions are Mahe Fonua, Ben Hampton, Cameron Munster and Travis Robinson. Shaun Nona gets another chance to impress Craig Bellamy as he presses for regular season selection.

Their squad is: Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Reuben Baillie, Kurt Bernard, Dean Britt, Kenny Bromwich, Mahe Fonua, Charlie Galo, Ben Hampton, Hymel Hunt, Richie Kennar, Billy Kitt,Mack Mason, Cameron Munster, Tom Murphy, Shaun Nona, Latrell Robinson, Travis Robinson, Joe Stimson, Francis Tualau, Jake Turpin, Joe Uluibau, Suliasi Vunivalu, Christian Welch, Dayne Weston

Shaun Johnson has been named for the New Zealand Warriors for their Saturday afternoon trial against Penrith to be played in Rotorua and live through Fox Sports in Australia from 1pm Sydney time.  Ryan Hoffman will play in the second row and it’s expected he’ll partner Simon Mannering in the regular side.  Mannering along with Jacob Lillyman and Konrad Hurrell are rested.  David Fusitu’a, Charlie Gubb, Glen Fisiiahi and Siliva Havili are on the injured list.

The Warriors side:  Sam Tomkins; Ken Maumalo, Ngani Laumape, Solomone Kata, Tuimoala Lolohea; Chad Townsend, Shaun Johnson; Suaia Matagi, Thomas Leuluai (c), Ben Matulino; Bodene Thompson, Ryan Hoffman; Ben Henry. Interchange: Matt Allwood, Marata Niukore, Api Pewhairangi, Sam Lisone, Nathaniel Roache, Sione Lousi, Raymond Faitala-Mariner, John Palavi, Albert Vete, Sam Rapira, Jazz Tevaga.

Newcastle will play a combined Port Macquarie and Wauchope side in Wauchope on Saturday.  Tyrone Roberts, Dane Gagai, Beau Scott and Jeremy Smith are playing in the All Stars game on the Gold Coast.  Carlos Tuimavave’s ankle sprain from the Nines will see him miss the remaining trials. Sione Mata’utia is back in training also after ankle problems in the Auckland tournament.

Newcastle’s squad is: Nathan Ross, Jake Mamo, Pat Mata’utia, Joey Leilua, Chanel Mata’utia, Tyler Randell, Jaelen Feeney, Kade Snowden, Chad Redman, Sam Mataora, Marvin Filipo, Lachlan Fitzgibbon, Pat Vaivai. Interchange: Danny Levi, Jake Finn, Sam Keenan, Jah Pakau, Tuiala Togitasi, James Elias, Honeti Tuha, Luke Yates

North Queensland face newcomers Townsville Blackhawks at Jack Manski Oval.  A good hit-out last week resulted in the Cowboys winning 18-6 over Brisbane in Mackay.  Lachlan Coote pulled up well and will start at fullback again this week.  A host of Cowboys are playing at the All Stars led by captain Johnathan Thurston and off-contract Jason Taumalolo who is in hot demand from rugby league and union.

Their side: Lachlan Coote, Kyle Feldt, Javid Bowen, Hezron Murgha, Zac Santo, Cameron Cullen, Tom Humble, Scott Bolton, Cameron King, Sam Hoare, Ben Spina, Coen Hess, John Asiata. Interchange: Josh Chudleigh, Akeripa Tia Kilifi, Viliame Kikau, Patrick Kaufusi, Braden Uele, Conor Carey, Cooper Bambling, David Munro, Andrew Niemoeller

Other Articles

2015 All Stars Preview
Translate »