Intrust Super Cup preview – Wynnum v PNG Hunters

Wynnum Manly Seagulls v PNG Hunters at BMD Kougari Oval on Sunday, April 12 – 1.40pm
TV Game – Live on Channel 9

Channel 9 certainly have helped themselves to a good game for their viewers on Sunday with two teams who should entertain all at Kougari Oval on Sunday afternoon.

Both side have similar form with a 3-2 record, and both are coming off losses last weekend. Wynnum’s was against a Townsville Blackhawks side that is looking more every week like no shame in losing. The PNG Hunters loss to the previously winless Sunshine Coast was the surprise of last weekend, if not the season thus far, and a loss on the weekend against Wynnum will leave them with one win from four on the road this year.

One thing both sides have in common this year is a big win against the Souths Logan Magpies that featured plenty of points, and viewers and fans alike will be hoping for plenty more points this weekend. They won’t have to wish for punishing defence – that will be guaranteed with these sides playing.

At this point I have to declare a fondness for the Hunters and their style of rugby league, and would love to see a turnaround of last year’s 28-10 loss at the same venue, however the loss last weekend against the Sunshine Coast and their lacklustre display against Easts on their next most recent trip south doesn’t fill one with much confidence. Wynnum should be too slick for this one.

Prediction: Wynnum by 8.

Odds: Wynnum $1.60, PNG $2.35


Wynnum Manly Seagulls: 1. Daniel Ogden 2. Peter Gubb 3. Matthew Grieve 4. Mitchell Buckett 5. Greg Eden 6. Patrick Templeman 7. Matthew Seamark (c) 8. Ben Shea 9. Alehana Mara 10. Aaron Rockley 11. Brendon Gibb 12. Jon Grieve 13. Mitchell Frei 14. Brendan McKinnon 15. John Te Reo 16. Tanu Wulf 17. Stephen Coombe

Coach: Jon Buchanan

PNG Hunters: 1. Stargroth Amean 2. Oti Bland Tony 3. Noel Zeming 4. Kato Ottio 5. Edward Goma 6. Israel Eliab (c) 7. Roger Laka 8. Henry Noki 9. Wartovo Puara 10. Esau Siune 11. Willie Minoga 12. Brandy Peter 13. Warren Glare 14. Atte Bina 15. Nickson Borana Ugaia 16. David Lapua 17. John Ragi 18. Ase Boas 19. Jay Jay Garrison

Coach: Michael Marum

Other Articles

Translate »