Intrust Super Cup Round 7 – Easts Tigers vs Central QLD Capras

Easts Tigers v CQ Capras at Tapout Energy Stadium on Saturday – 4.30pm

The big news leading into the first game of Round 7 is the announcement that Central Capras coach and former origin player Jason Hetherington has announced that this Saturday’s games will be his last at the helm of the Capras. He will be replaced in the interim by assistant coach Lionel Harbin.

Whilst he leaves the Capras on only one win by Round 6, they have had some close losses at home against form teams Mackay and Ipswich and a bye, so the 1 win isn’t as bad as it looks on paper.

Their opponents Easts have now won two in a row after leaving it until late last week at Burleigh, and they are unbeaten at home in three games so far this season including a last home game thrashing of the Souths Logan Magpies.

The home side welcome back Grant Giess from a rib injury suffered in pre season, and is a significant addition as he is arguably the Tigers best. Also returning is Shane Neumann after missing last week’s win. The Intrust Super Cup’s best defensive centre forms a formidable pairing with Donald Malone. They remain without Cameron Munster whose stay with the Storm has been extended.

Whilst there will be plenty of emotion from the Capras in trying to send their coach out a winner, it doesn’t get much harder than an in form Tigers at home.

Prediction: Easts by 22

Odds: Easts $1.16 – Central $5.25
Last year’s result: Easts 34-12

Easts Tigers: 1. Eddie Tautali 2. Richie Kennar 3. Shane Neumann 4. Donald Malone 5. Matt Duffie 6. Shaun Nona 7. Grant Giess 8. Christian Welch 9. Tommy Butterfield 10. Liam McDonald 11. Dane Hogan (c) 12. Jake Foster 13. Troy Giess 14. Francis Tualau 15. Matthew Zgrajewski 16. Foisa Peni 17. Dean Britt 18. Michael Kai 19. Brenton Horwood

Coach: Craig Ingebrigtsen

CQ Capras: 1. Javarn White 2. Ha’Ofanga Rabakewa 3. Jacob Gagai 4. Tarrant Mariner 5. Ray Ebsworth 6. Matt Minto 7. Mark Johnstone 8. Gerard Tema 9. Ian Webster 10. Fabian Soutar 11. Garrett Field 12. Guy Williams (c) 13. Gavin Hiscox 14. Josh Mitchell 15. Rajan Opetaia-Halls 16. Josh Johnston 24. Andrew Dale

Coach: Lionel Harbin

Other Articles

Translate »