Super League Preview: Salford vs Widnes

Although the focus this weekend is very much on the World Club Series, there is still some Super League action taking place for those who would like a break from the intense action of ‘The Best vs The Best’.

But you aren’t guaranteed to breathe easy if you watch this one either – two of Super League’s form teams lock horns on Sunday, as Salford host Widnes at the AJ Bell Stadium.

Sunday’s fixture is one brought forward from round 11 in the First Utility Super League, and it could give one of the sparring sides an early advantage over the bigger teams, who wage war with the best from Down Under in the annual World Club Series.

Both sides come into the game off the back of massive home wins against top sides – the hosts embarrassed St. Helens last Thursday, while Widnes quite literally battered and bruised champions Leeds on Sunday.

You would expect this tie to be a mouth-watering clash then, as arguably the two best attacking sides from last week go head-to-head.

There are some key players to look at in this preview from both sides – Vikings winger Corey Thompson will be looking to add to the hat-trick he tallied against Leeds, while prop Setaimata Sa will hope to continue his 100% record of scoring in every game so far this season.

Salford also have some dangerous players – half-back Robert Lui crushed Saints with two tries from expert dummies, as well as providing a pin-point kick for full-back Niall Evalds – the latter of which also bagged a brace against Keiron Cunnimgham’s men.


Salford Red Devils 19-man squad

Justin Carney, Michael Dobson, Niall Evalds, Mark Flanagan, George Griffin, Josh Griffin, Greg Johnson, Josh Jones, Phil Joseph, Craig Kopczak, Olsi Krasniqi, Ryan Lannon, Tommy Lee, Robert Lui, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Gareth O’Brien, Matthew Sarsfield, Logan Tomkins, Adam Walne.

Widnes Vikings 19-man squad

Chris Bridge, Kevin Brown, Hep Cahill, Gil Dudson, Connor Farrell, Tom Gilmore, Rhys Hanbury, Aaron Heremaia, Chris Houston, Macgraff Leuluai, Manase Manuokafoa, Stefan Marsh, Joe Mellor, Eamon O’Carroll, Charly Runciman, Setaimata Sa, Corey Thompson, Lloyd White, Matt Whitley.

Other Articles

NRL NewsSuper League News
Rugby League Championship NewsSuper League News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »