Leeds Rhinos v Batley Bulldogs Preview

Leeds Rhinos play host to Batley Bulldogs on Friday night as Brian McDermott’s men aim for five wins from as many matches in the middle eights. The evening will be something to behold for the Bulldogs and their fans as the hard work that has been put in over the past few seasons will really hit home as they take on last year’s treble winners. Batley come into the match after a one point victory over fellow Championship club Featherstone Rovers last weekend while Leeds got past troubled Salford Red Devils.

Leeds Rhinos beat Salford Red Devils 30-8 on home turf last Friday but the West Yorkshire club were only two points up at half-time, Jamie Jones-Buchanan and George Griffin exchanged tries for the Rhinos and Red Devils respectively in the opening minutes before Gareth O’Brien edged the visitors in front with a penalty goal. O’Brien was then sin-binned four minutes from half-time for a professional foul and Kallum Watkins took advantage with his side’s second score of the evening. After the restart, Jordan Lilley tagged on a penalty goal prior to quick fire tries from James Segeyaro and Carl Ablett. During the final quarter, Adam Cuthbertson rounded off proceedings with a late try.

Batley Bulldogs got off the mark in the Qualifiers with an 11-10 triumph against Featherstone Rovers at the Fox’s Biscuits Stadium. Wayne Reittie broke the deadlock on 14 minutes for the Bulldogs before the Rovers hit back with two consecutive tries courtesy of Luke Briscoe and James Duckworth. The final play of the half saw Batley scrum-half Dominic Brambani kick a penalty goal to cut the deficit to three points. Jamie Foster extended Rovers’ advantage to five points with a penalty of his own before Pat Walker did the exact same down the other end. The score remained 10-7 to Featherstone heading into the final quarter, where Reittie notched the winner and his second try of the afternoon following a smooth offload from Sam Smeaton.

There’s just one change to Leeds’ 19 man squad from last week as Anthony Mullally replaces the injured Joel Moon, who went off against Salford in round four.

Leeds’ squad is as follows.. 

Ablett, Achurch, Briscoe, Burrow, Cuthbertson, Ferres, Galloway, Garbutt, Golding, Hall, Jones-Buchanan, Keinhorst, Lilley, Mullally, Segeyaro, Singleton, Sutcliffe, Ward, Watkins.

Batley coach John Kear has made three changes from last week’s 19 man squad. Shaun Squires, Alex Brown and James Brown all make way for Shaun Ainscough, Joe Chandler and James Davey.

Batley’s squad is as follows..

Ainscough, Blake, Brambani, Bretherton, Chandler, Davey, Day, Gledhill, Harrison, Hirst, Leak, Lillycrop, Reittie, Rowe, Scott, Smeaton, Southernwood, Ulugia, Walker,

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »