Widnes look to upset rivals Warrington’s League Leaders Bid

Widnes will be looking to derail local rivals Warrington’s League Leaders’ Shield ambitions with a win at the Halliwell Jones Stadium on Friday.

The Vikings cannot make the top-four and qualify for the play-offs but that did not deter Denis Betts’ side from putting in one of their most spirited performances of the season last week to narrowly defeat Wigan 8-6 away at the DW Stadium.

After a difficult middle part of the campaign Widnes will be looking to finish the season on a high and nothing would please their fans more than a win over rivals Warrington.

The Wolves will go into the game full of confidence however after winning the last five games between the sides at the Halliwell Jones Stadium and all three encounters so far this season.

Tony Smith’s side put in a strong second-half display to win 28-10 on Good Friday before romping to a 48-16 win a month later. The Wolves also narrowly came out on top 20-18 in the Challenge Cup quarter-final.

Warrington have won their last four Super 8s matches including last Saturday’s dramatic 26-22 win away to Catalans.

Should they win and Hull FC drop points against Wigan the Wire could go three points clear at the top with two games remaining.

Kurt Gidley provides a welcome return from the eye injury he sustained in the Challenge Cup Final and replaces Joe Westerman in the 19-man squad.

Rhys Evans also returns in place of Jack Johnson.

Widnes make one change from the win at Wigan with Patrick Ah Van named in place of Stefan Marsh who looks set to be out for the rest of the season with a knee injury.


Warrington Wolves:  Ryan Atkins, Ryan Bailey, Ben Currie, Brad Dwyer, Rhys Evans, Kurt Gidley, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, Benjamin Jullien, George King, Toby King, Declan Patton, Kevin Penny, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Matty Russell, Ashton Sims, Morgan Smith,Sam Wilde.

Widnes Vikings: Patrick Ah Van, Kevin Brown, Greg Burke, Jack Buchanan, Hep Cahill, Jay Chapelhow, Chris Dean, Gil Dudson, Connor Farrell, Tom Gilmore, Rhys Hanbury, Aaron Heremaia, Chris Houston, Macgraff Leuluai, Joe Mellor, Charly Runciman, Corey Thompson, Lloyd White, Matt Whitley.

Other Articles

Super League News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »