Connect with us

NRL Match Preview

Holden Cup GF Preview: Parramatta Eels v Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Embed from Getty Images

The Eels and the Sea Eagles will kick off grand final Sunday with the Holden Cup (NYC) decider. Parramatta came fourth and Manly rounded out the finals teams, coming eighth, and now the two will meet in the big dance at 1:35pm (NSW time) Sunday afternoon.

Last Time Out

The Manly Sea Eagles beat the St. George-Illawarra Dragons 34-18 when they met at Allianz Stadium last Saturday. The match was relatively even, except for the completion rates of both teams, which Manly significantly dominated, completing at 86 per cent (scoring six tries), as opposed to the Dragons’ 70 per cent. They conceded seven penalties – which could prove to be an issue in the grand final – and made nine errors. While they have been dominant during the finals series, simple errors could cost them Sunday.

The Parramatta Eels were significantly dominant over the Penrith Panthers, winning at Allianz Stadium last Saturday by 22 points (28-6). They won possession 56 per cent to 44 per cent. The Eels completed at 72 per cent, were dominant in both attack and defence, making more runs and more metres. The Eels have had a strong season, coming fourth on the ladder, and remained dominant in the finals series. Will they perform during their big dance on Sunday against the Sea Eagles?



It’ll be a great game to open grand final day, and both sides will be hoping to continue their dominance and momentum to take home the trophy.

Manly by six.


Parramatta Eels 1.Anthony Layoun, 2. Greg Leleisiuao, 3. Dane Aukafolau, 4. Noel Aukafolau, 5. John Fonua, 6. Dean Matterson (c), 7. Dylan Brown, 8. Sean Keppie, 9. Denzal Tonise (c), 10. Oregon Kaufusi, 11. Dylan Clifford, 12. Salesi Faingaa, 13. Ray Stone, 14. Reed Mahoney, 15. Mitch Butfield, 16. Frank Salu, 17. Dom Murphy

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 1. Jade Anderson, 2. Alfred Smalley, 3. Tevita Funa, 4. Semisi Kioa, 5. Bilal Maarbani, 6. Tom Wright, 7. Cade Cust, 8. Jaiden Tarrant, 9. Manase Fainu (c), 10. Eila Faatui, 11. Blake Andrews, 12. Josh Martin, 13. Haumole Olakauatu, 14. Kurtis Preece, 15. Jesse Martin, 16. Zaan Weatherall, 17. John Tuivati


More in NRL Match Preview

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: