PREVIEW | Parramatta Eels vs Wests Tigers

The Parramatta Eels and Wests Tigers will face off for the second time this season when they meet at ANZ Stadium this Sunday afternoon.


Parramatta Eels

The Eels finally got off the mark for season 2018 when they beat the Manly Sea Eagles 44-12 in round 7, ending their 6 game losing streak to start the season.

Wests Tigers

The Tigers lost just their second game of the year when they went down to the Newcastle Knights in round 7 at Tamworth, and will be aiming for a 6th win in 2018 when they take on the Eels.


Parramatta Eels

Bevan French rejoins the side on the wing, after Jarryd Hayne was ruled out with a hip injury. Nathan Brown remains unavailable.

Wests Tigers

Chris Lawrence makes his return from a hamstring injury, while Alex Twal drops out with a shoulder issue. Word is Mahe Fonua will make his club debut in the 21 jersey, with Malakai Watene-Zelezniak picking up a shoulder injury.


Embed from Getty Images

The Easter Monday clash between these two sides was dominated by the Wests Tigers for most of the match. A late Eels push saw the scoreline finish at a flattering 30-20. The Eels got off to a quick start on the day, scoring first through Will Smith, before the Tigers scored 30 unanswered points, and ended Parramatta’s chance of getting the 2 points. A few late tries to the Eels made things interesting but it was a case of too little too late.

The battle of the housemate halfbacks is the most intriguing of the afternoon. After growing up playing together, Luke Brooks and Mitchell Moses are one win a piece playing against each other. Brooks had the better of the two the last time they met, but Moses’ form in Parramatta’s last start win suggests it will be a closer affair this time around.


The Eels haven’t lost to the Tigers twice in the same season in 6 years.


Eels: 1 Clint Gutherson (c), 2 Bevan French, 3 Michael Jennings, 4 Brad Takairangi, 5 George Jennings, 6 Corey Norman, 7 Mitchell Moses, 8 Daniel Alvaro, 9 Kaysa Pritchard, 10 Suaia Matagi, 11 Manu Ma’u, 12 Tony Williams, 13 Peni Terepo

Interchange: 14 Will Smith, 15 Kenny Edwards, 16 David Gower, 17 Tim Mannah (c)

Reserves: 18 Tepai Moeroa, 19 Kane Evans, 20 Josh Hoffman, 21 Cameron King

Wests Tigers: 1 Corey Thompson, 2 David Nofoaluma, 3 Esan Marsters, 4 Kevin Naiqama, 5 Malakai Watene-Zelezniak, 6 Benji Marshall (c), 7 Luke Brooks, 8 Matthew Eisenhuth, 9 Jacob Liddle, 10 Ben Matulino, 11 Chris Lawrence, 12 Robbie Rochow, 13 Elijah Taylor (c)

Interchange: 14 Pita Godinet, 15 Josh Aloiai, 16 Michael Chee-Kam, 17 Sauaso Sue

Reserves: 18 Tim Grant, 19 Chris McQueen, 20 Tyson Gamble, 21 Mahe Fonua


Date: Sunday April 29
Venue: ANZ Stadium
Kick-off: 4:10pm


[totalpoll id=”285509″]

Wests Tigers announce new contract for Esan Marsters

Other Articles

NRL Match Reports
Super League Match ReportsSuper League News
Translate »