PREVIEW | South Sydney Rabbitohs vs Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Embed from Getty Images

The in-form Rabbitohs will be out to put an end to the Sharks 6-match winning streak in a Top 4 clash at ANZ Stadium.



The Rabbitohs are on a winning streak of their own over the last month. They’ve accounted for the Knights, Dragons and Warriors comfortably while coming away with a last second win in a tough slog against the Cowboys.

Under new coach Anthony Siebold, the Bunnies have experienced a resurgence. The Burgess twins have rediscovered their top form and players like John Sutton are having their best season in years.


For a team that has won 6 matches in a row, the Sharks have not looked particularly impressive in a majority of them. A huge 48-10 win against the Knights aside, they struggled to record narrow wins against 3 of the bottom 4 sides.

However in typical Sharks fashion they were able to win by dragging their opponents down to their level and beating them by experience. At the end of the day, 2 points are 2 points and the Sharks sit in 4th spot with a superior points differential to the Warriors.



The Rabbitohs will be without the services of Greg Inglis, Dane Gagai, Damien Cook and Angus Crichton who are away on rep duty.

Robbie Farah will start in the 9 jersey in his first NRL match for the year. The very versatile Adam Doueihi lines up at fullback in what will be the 4th different position he has played in 11 games.

Braidon Burns and Hymel Hunt replace Inglis and Gagai in the centres. Sam Burgess shifts to the back-row and Cameron Murray to Lock while Tyrell Fuimaono joins the bench.


In previous seasons the Sharks would be hit hard by Origin representation but this year there’ll only be one absentee in Valentine Holmes. Sosaia Feki replaces him on the wing while Andrew Fifita returns at prop after being rested against the Knights.


Key Battle 

The Burgess twins against Fifita and Gallen.

Whoever wins this battle in the early stages is going to get their team on the front foot towards victory. With the Rabbitohs missing a number of their strike players, winning the game through the middle becomes that much more important and the Burgess boys are the key to that area.

With the Sharks close to full strength they can take advantage of a weakened side and play off the offloads that Fifita and Gallen can provide. If the Souths can’t wrap the ball up, the Sharks could run rampant against them.


Paul Gallen needs only 8 more losses to hold the record for most losses in NRL history.


1 Adam Doueihi
2 Campbell Graham
3 Braidon Burns
4 Hymel Hunt
5 Robert Jennings
6 Cody Walker
7 Adam Reynolds
8 Tom Burgess
9 Robbie Farah
10 George Burgess
11 John Sutton
12 Sam Burgess (c)
13 Cameron Murray
14 Tyrell Fuimaono
15 Mark Nicholls
16 Jason Clark
17 Tevita Tatola
18 Mawene Hiroti
19 Connor Tracey
20 Dean Britt
21 Kyle Turner

1 Josh Dugan
2 Sosaia Feki
3 Jesse Ramien
4 Ricky Leutele
5 Edrick Lee
6 Matt Moylan
7 Chad Townsend
8 Andrew Fifita
9 Jayden Brailey
10 Matt Prior
11 Luke Lewis
12 Wade Graham (c)
13 Paul Gallen (c)
14 Joseph Paulo
15 James Segeyaro
16 Ava Seumanufagai
17 Jayson Bukuya
18 Kurt Capewell
19 Jack Williams
20 Sione Katoa
21 Scott Sorensen


Date: Friday June 1st
Venue: ANZ Stadium
Kick-off: 7:55pm


[totalpoll id=”288089″]

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: