RLWC 2021 | Host Venues Revealed

The announcement of the host cities and towns was held today, with around 80% of the games being held within the Northern Powerhouse with the majority of fixtures held in Yorkshire and the North-West. There will also be games for Middlesborough, Workington, Coventry, Newcastle and London.

After some impressive bids, it looks set to be the most inclusive event so far for rugby league. There will be a double header at Old Trafford for both the men’s and women’s final as well as Liverpool’s M&S Bank Arena for the wheelchair final. Liverpool will also host the women’s opening ceremony, with Newcastle hosting the men’s.

There will be a trip to London for one of the men’s semi-finals where there will be a huge first for rugby league. Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium will host its first sporting fixture other than football. Leeds’ Elland Road will host the other semi-final.

There was also an announcement for the training bases, with Preston the first name to be revealed.




Bolton (The University of Bolton Stadium): two men’s games – an England group game and quarter-final

Liverpool (Anfield): marquee quarter-final tie, the women’s opening ceremony and initial England game

Liverpool (M&S Bank Arena): the wheelchair Rugby final

Preston: first training base to be revealed

St Helens (Totally Wicked Stadium): three men’s group games

Trafford (Old Trafford): men’s and women’s finals as a double-header

Warrington (Halliwell Jones Stadium): three men’s group games

Leigh (Leigh Sports Village): three men’s group games



Coventry (Ricoh Arena): one men’s game



Doncaster (Keepmoat Stadium): three men’s group games

Huddersfield (John Smiths Stadium): a men’s quarter-final

Hull (KCOM Stadium): two men’s games, including a quarter-final.

Leeds (Elland Road): a men’s semi-final

Leeds (Emerald Headingley Stadium): three men’s games and four women’s games

Sheffield (Bramall Lane): England men’s group game

Sheffield (EIS Sheffield): host of a group and both semi-finals in the wheelchair tournament

York (The Community Stadium): a women’s group game and both women’s semi-finals



Middlesbrough (The Riverside Stadium): a significant men’s group game

Newcastle (St James’ Park): the opening England men’s group game and the men’s opening ceremony



Allerdale (Workington Community Stadium): three men’s group games



London (Emirates Stadium): a men’s semi-final

London (The Copper Box Arena): host of the England group in the wheelchair tournament

What do you think about our story?
Translate »