KANGAROOS SQUAD | Jack Wighton redemption complete with national selection

Clive Churchill Medal winner Jack Wighton has completed a fairy tale 2019 with selection in the Australian national side announced this morning.

After a turbulent 2018 where he ended up in court on assault charges, the twenty-six year old turned around his career as he moved into the halves, earning selection in Brad Fittler’s New South Wales winning Origin side this year.

Wighton was superb for the Raiders in scoring their only try in going down to the defending Premiers 14-8.

Embed from Getty Images

He is joined by Josh Papalii and Nick Cotric as the Raiders players selected in Mal Meninga’s side for the upcoming international matches against New Zealand and Tonga.

The Premiership winning Roosters will be represented by Boyd Cordner (captain), Luke Keary, Latrell Mitchell and Dally M Player of the Year James Tedesco.

Payne Haas, Cameron Murray, Paul Vaughan and Josh Addo-Carr are set to make their International debuts after winning selection.


Josh Addo-Carr, Daly Cherry-Evans, Boyd Cordner (captain), Damien Cook, Nick Cotric, Tyson Frizell, Wade Graham, Payne Haas, Ben Hunt, Luke Keary, David Klemmer, Latrell Mitchell, Cameron Munster, Cameron Murray, Josh Papalii, James Tedesco, Jake Trbojevic, Paul Vaughan, Jack Wighton.

Melbourne Storm young gun Ryan Papenhuyzen has gained selection in the Kangaroo’s Nines squad for the Rugby League World Cup Nines on 18-19 October at Bankwest Stadium. Eels locals Nathan Brown, Clint Gutherson and Mitchell Moses also are among the fifteen-man squad.


Josh Addo-Carr, Jai Arrow, AJ Brimson, Nathan Brown, Kyle Feldt, Tyson Frizell, Reuben Garrick, Wade Graham, Clint Gutherson, Ben Hunt, Mitchell Moses, Ryan Papenhuyzen, Kalyn Ponga, Curtis Scott, Cody Walker.

The Jillaroo’s squad was also announced with the Dragons’ Jess Sergis along with Broncos stars Tamika Upton and Julia Robinson named in Brad Donald’s side.


Kezie Apps, Shaylee Bent, Ali Brigginshaw, Millie Boyle, Brittany Breayley, Keeley Davis, Kirra Dibb, Tallisha Harden, Isabelle Kelly, Corban McGregor, Tiana Penitani, Julia Robinson, Jess Sergis, Hannah Southwell, Shakiah Tungai, Tamika Upton, Botille Vette-Welsh.

The Prime Minister’s side to take on Fiji this Friday night in Suva was announced last week.


Clint Gutherson, Kyle Feldt, Paul Momirovski, Brad Parker, Blake Ferguson, Cody Walker, Mitchell Moses, Paul Vaughan, Ben Hunt, Payne Haas, Wade Graham (captain), Tyson Frizzell, Jake Trbojevic, Jai Arrow, Reuben Garrick, David Fifita, Reed Mahoney, Nathan Brown, Thomas Flegler.

MATCH REPORT | Sydney Roosters 14-8 Canberra Raiders

Express Your Reaction
Translate ยป