ROUND FOUR MATCH REPORT | Parramatta Eels 19 – 16 Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles

Nathan Smith reviews the round four match between the Parramatta Eels and the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles. Here’s how the game went.


Minute Scoring Play Score
15th Penalty goal MItchell Moses (Parramata) Parramatta 2-0
20th Penalty goal Reuben Garrick (Manly-Warringah) Parramatta 2-2
30th Try Michael Jennings (Parramatta) Parramatta 6-2
31st Goal Mitchell Moses (Parramatta) Parramatta 8-2
39th Try Dylan Brown (Parramatta) Parramatta 12-2
40th Try Kane Evans (Parramatta) Parramatta 16-2
41st Goal Mitchell Moses (Parramatta) Parramatta 18-2
43rd Try Jorge Taufua (Manly-Warringah) Parramatta 18-6
51st Try Dylan Walker (Manly-Warringah) Parramatta 18-10
52nd Goal Reuben Garrick (Manly-Warringah) Parramatta 18-12
73rd Field goal Mitchell Moses (Parramatta) Parramatta 19-12
76th Try Jorge Taufua (Manly-Warringah) Parramatta 19-16


1st Half

The first half saw both teams live up to the hype of a top eight clash, with the score reading 2-2 up until the 30th minute. Michael Jennings managed to cross the line in the 31st minute, and Dylan Brown followed up in the 39th minute with a trick shot from the scrum, putting the Eels up 12-2 at half time.

2nd Half

Manly started the half horribly, with a lost ball in the opening minute. This allowed an Eels try to Kane Evans in the 40th minute, with Mitchell Moses swiftly converting to make it 18-2. From there, Manly stormed back with tries to Jorge Taufua and Dylan Walker, however a Moses field goal in the 73rd minute would make it difficult for Manly to recover. Taufua scored his second try in the 76th minute to diminish the gap. Manly looked likely to win in the final minute, however a controversial forward pass ruling ended the game, with Parramatta winning 19-16.


A big highlight was the sight of Michael Jennings winding back the clock: not only did he score the first try of the night, but he ran the length of the field and ducked and weaved defenders far younger than him to put his side in fine field position. Jennings made it clear that age is but a number with his performance on Saturday night.


Parramatta Eels: 1. Clinton Gutherson 2. Maika Sivo 3. Michael Jennings 4. Waqa Blake 5. Blake Ferguson 6. Dylan Brown 7. Mitchell Moses 8. Reagan Campbell-Gillard 9. Reed Mahoney 10. Junior Paulo 11. Shaun Lane 12. Ryan Matterson 13. Marata Niukore. Interchange: 14. Brad Takairangi 16. Kane Evans 17. Peni Terepo 18. Oregon Kaufusi.

Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles:

1. Tom Trbojevic 2. Jorge Taufua 3. Brad Parker 4. Moses Suli 5. Reuben Garrick 6. Dylan Walker 7. Daly Cherry-Evans 8. Addin Fonua-Blake 9. Danny Levi 10. Martin Taupau 11. Joel Thompson 12. Curtis Sironen 13. Jake Trbojevic. Interchange: 14. Lachlan Croker 15. Corey Waddell 16. Sean Keppie 17. Taniela Paseka.


Other Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »