2020 NRL Round 13 Preview, Sea Eagles Vs Warriors

Andrew Pelechaty previews the lucky round 13 clash between Manly Warringah and the New Zealand Warriors at Brookvale Oval. This is what we have to look forward to.


Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

Manly (6-6) dropped out of the top eight with a 42-12 loss to Penrith last Saturday night. The Panthers led 22-0 before Jake Trbojevic scored Manly’s first try in the 33rd minute. When Jorge Taufua scored in the 56th minute, Manly still had a small sniff  – trailing 30-12 – but Brent Naden and Apisai Koroisau sealed the win for Penrith.

Embed from Getty Images

New Zealand Warriors

The Warriors (4-8) won their fourth game of the season on Friday night, beating the Wests Tigers 26-20. It was a high-scoring game, with four tries each (two to Peta Hiku, and one each to Karl Lawton and Tohu Harris). Kodi Nikorima kicked five from five, including a crucial penalty goal in the 24th minute. Their win was soured by the news that Blake Green had left the club, effective immediately, slotting straight into Newcastle’s starting side this weekend.

Embed from Getty Images


Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

. Brendan Elliot 2. Jorge Taufua 3. Tevita Funa 4. Moses Suli 5. Reuben Garrick 6. Cade Cust 7. Daly Cherry-Evans 8. Addin Fonua-Blake 9. Danny Levi 10. Martin Taupau 11. Joel Thompson 12. Curtis Sironen 13. Jake Trbojevic 14. Lachlan Croker 15. Corey Waddell 16. Sean Keppie 17. Taniela Paseka 18. Haumole Olakau’atu 19. Abbas Miski 20. Morgan Boyle 21. Albert Hopoate.

New Zealand Warriors

1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck 2. Patrick Herbert 3. Adam Pompey 4. Peta Hiku 5. George Jennings 6. Kodi Nikorima 7. Chanel Harris-Tavita 8. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown 9. Karl Lawton 10. Jack Hetherington 11. Eliesa Katoa 12. Tohu Harris 13. Jazz Tevaga 14. Wayde Egan 15. Adam Blair 16. Daniel Alvaro 17. Lachlan Burr 18. Isaiah Papali’i 20. Adam Keighran 21. Jack Murchie 22. Gerard Beale


Manly hold a comfortable head-to-head lead since 1998, with 22 wins from 32 games. Their most famous meeting was in the 2011 grand final: the Sea Eagles won their eighth premiership with a 24-10 victory.

Embed from Getty Images

The Sea Eagles and Warriors split last year’s meetings (both played in New Zealand): Manly won their round three clash 46-12 in Christchurch, while the Warriors won 24-16 at Mt Smart Stadium in round 21.


Reuben Garrick v Kodi Nikorima

The battle of the current goalkickers could be crucial in a tight game.

Reuben Garrick has kicked 29 goals in 12 games (about two-and-a-half a game), with a season-high four in the wins over Brisbane and North Queensland. The Warriors’ defence will be tenacious, so Garrick will need to ensure four points are turned into six at every opportunity.

Embed from Getty Images

Kodi Nikorima was a big part of the Warriors’ win over the Wests Tigers, with five goals from five attempts. Last week’s game was Nikorima’s first with the kicking duties since the round six loss to Souths. If the Warriors are to win, Nikorima will need another perfect night with the boot.

Embed from Getty Images


A big game for both teams’ finals aspirations. Manly are ninth after their loss to Penrith, while the Warriors (who many expected to be wooden spoon candidates) are just two wins from the eight. The Warriors will dig in, but Manly’s desire to re-enter to top eight (and improve their disappointing 3-4 Brookvale record) will be too much for the New Zealanders.

Manly by six.

Date: Friday, August 7.
Venue: Lottoland, Sydney.
Kick-off: 6pm.

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »