ROUND 19 MATCH REPORT | Sydney Roosters 34-18 Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Mitch Bourke reviews Sydney’s convincing win over Cronulla-Sutherland. Here’s how the game went.


Minute Scoring Play Score
4th Try Mitchell Aubusson (Roosters) Roosters 4-0
5th Goal Kyle Flanagan (Roosters) Roosters 6-0
7th Try Siosifa Talakai (Sharks) Roosters 6-4
9th Goal Shaun Johnson (Sharks) Scores Tied 6-6
17th Penalty Goal Kyle Flanagan (Roosters) Roosters 8-6
22nd Try Daniel Tupou (Roosters) Roosters 12-6
23rd Goal Kyle Flanagan (Roosters) Roosters 14-6
28th Try Luke Keary (Roosters) Roosters 18-6
29th Goal Kyle Flanagan (Roosters) Roosters 20-6
35th Try Mitchell Aubusson (Roosters) Roosters 24-6
38th Try Ronaldo Mulitalo (Sharks) Roosters 24-10
40th Goal Shaun Johnson (Sharks) Roosters 24-12
55th Try Luke Keary (Roosters) Roosters 28-12
67th Try Braden Hamlin-Uele (Sharks) Roosters 28-16
68th Goal Sione Katoa (Sharks) Roosters 28-18
71st Try Joseph Manu (Roosters) Roosters 32-18
72nd Goal Kyle Flanagan (Roosters) Roosters 34-18
75th Joseph Manu (Roosters) – SIN BIN Roosters 34-18



1st Half

Emotion headlined the game’s opening stanza, and not of the aggressive kind. Mitch Aubusson became the Sydney Roosters’ games record holder, and rose to the occasion.

Just as he’d run through his makeshift guard of honour minutes earlier, the Roosters milestone man Aubusson ran through the Sharks’ line to open the scoring with a touching try.

Keen to spoil the party, Shaun Johnson made for a quick reply with his 23rd try assist of the season, his flat ball isolating Siosifa Talakai with the slighter Kyle Flanagan, and a tied game the outcome.

Daniel Tupou came up trumps from a desperate in-goal wrestle with Sione Katoa: the 22nd minute converted try along, with Flanagan’s earlier penalty goal, stretched Sydney’s lead to eight.

Fancy footwork from Isaac Liu dismembered Cronulla’s line and sent him storming through the backfield, calling on support runner Luke Keary to finish the job.

With a whitewash beckoning, Angus Crichton’s ingoal-bound grubber wreaked havoc: 303-gamer Aubusson emerging from the tangle with a first-half double.

An ad-lib scramble of a set from Cronulla culminated in Ronaldo Mulitalo spectacularly soaring over the stripe to breathe life into the Sharks and close out a high-scoring six-try half.

Embed from Getty Images

2nd Half

Scoring was subdued for the most part of the second half, with a host of finals-threatening injuries compounding the Sharks’ loss.

A suspected snapped Achilles tendon to Shaun Johnson, a dislocated knee cap to Royce Hunt, and a hyperextended knee to Josh Dugan did Cronulla no favours: not only for tonight, but also heading into finals.

In the 55th minute, Keary reaped the rewards of his support running for the second time of the night, this time benefitting from Brett Morris’ touchline tip-toeing, mere blades of grass the difference between turnover and try.

Braden Hamlin-Uele was able to ignite Cronulla’s comeback chances, finally converting their territory control into currency: with the four points turned into six after stand-in kicker Sione Katoa converted.

The idea of a comeback was entertained for the best part of four minutes, before Joseph Manu quashed the Sharks’ hopes, sneaking an outstretched hand into the in-goal to seal the result.

Try scorer Manu was sent to the bin minutes later, but it had little effect on the match’s outcome, with the Tricolours itching to close out the game and continue their celebration of ‘ultimate clubman’ Aubusson.

Embed from Getty Images


Mitchell Aubusson reached Sydney Roosters legend status. The occasion alone of becoming the most-capped Rooster was enough to steal the limelight, but his double enhanced the script tenfold. Alarm bells were ringing when Joseph Manu bombed a chance to put Aubusson over in the second minute, but by the fourth he was on the scoresheet. The pre-game guard of honour and post-game ball presentation were fitting tributes to a deserving champion.

Embed from Getty Images


Sydney Roosters: 1. Joseph Manu, 2. Daniel Tupou, 3. Josh Morris, 4. Mitchell Aubusson, 5. Brett Morris, 6. Luke Keary, 7. Kyle Flanagan, 8. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, 14. Freddy Lussick, 10. Lindsay Collins, 15. Angus Crichton, 12. Sitili Tupouniua, 13. Isaac Liu. Interchange: 16. Nat Butcher, 17. Sonny Bill Williams, 18. Poasa Faamausili, 19. Drew Hutchison.

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks: 1. William Kennedy, 2. Sione Katoa, 3. Josh Dugan, 4. Jesse Ramien, 5. Ronaldo Mulitalo, 6. Connor Tracey, 7. Shaun Johnson, 8. Braden Hamlin-Uele, 9. Blayke Brailey. 10. Aaron Woods, 11. Briton Nikora, 12. Siosifa Talakai, 13. Toby Rudolf. Interchange: 15. Jack Williams, 16. Andrew Fifita, 17. Royce Hunt, 18. Scott Sorensen.


Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »