NRL | Finals Week 1 Wrap and Week in NRL

Here’s a look at the National Rugby League week, including weekend results from Week 1 of the NRL Finals.

Week 2 Finals

Friday, October 9 

Sydney Roosters (4th) vs Canberra Raiders (5th)
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground
Kick-off: 7:50pm (6:50pm QLD)

Winner to play Melbourne Storm on Friday October 16 at Suncorp Stadium (6:50pm Brisbane time)

Saturday, October 10

Parramatta Eels (3rd) vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (6th)
Venue: Bankwest Stadium
Kick-off: 7:50pm (6:50pm QLD)

Winner to play Penrith Panthers Saturday October 17 at ANZ Stadium (7:50pm Brisbane time).


  • The opening fixture of the NRL Finals Series between the Penrith Panthers and the Sydney Roosters at Panthers Stadium is sold out within hours of going on sale.
  • New South Wales name Payne Haas, Jake Trbojevic, Tom Trbojevic, Tyson Frizell and Cameron McInnes in their extended squad for the upcoming Origin series.
  • Tom Starling re-signs with the Canberra Raiders until the end of 2022.
  • Kieran Foran wins the Dr George Peponis Bulldogs Player of the Year.
  • Josh Papalii and Jack Wighton are joint winners of the Meninga Medal Raiders Player of the Year.
  • Nathan Peats leaves the Gold Coast Titans.
  • The Melbourne Storm’s Max King is suspended for three weeks after his ‘hip drop’ tackle against the St George Illawarra Dragons.
  • The Canterbury Bulldogs’ Luke Thompson receives a four week ban for his eye gouge on Penrith’s James Tamou.
  • Kevin Walters is confirmed as the Brisbane Broncos‘ coach until the end of 2022.
  • Confirmation the National Rugby League Grand Final will be played at ANZ Stadium on Sunday, October 25. Originally the game was set down for the Sydney Cricket Ground.
  • David Nofoaluma wins the Kelly-Barnes Tigers Player of the Year.
  • Sam Stone re-signs with the Gold Coast Titans for 2021.
  • Brian Kelly wins the Paul Broughton Medal Titans Player of the Year.
  • South Sydney release a statement about allegations levelled at former player Sam Burgess: “There is no place in our society for violence, harassment or abuse against women. If anyone is found guilty of allegations of this nature, the Club will take the strongest possible action.”
  • North Queensland Cowboys announce Gavin Cooper (retirement), John Asiata, Tom Opacic, Dan Russell and Garrett Smith are leaving the club.
  • Jason Taumalolo wins the Paul Bowman Cowboys Player of the Year five years straight.
  • Wayne Bennett replaces Kevin Walters as Queensland Origin coach for the upcoming series.


  • Penrith Panthers head into their first grand final qualifier since 2014 after their 29-28 victory over defending premiers the Sydney Roosters. Nathan Cleary produces a near-perfect performance including three first half tries, and the match-winning field goal three minutes from time.
  • The Canberra Raiders are set for a grand final re-match with the Sydney Roosters after finishing stronger against the Cronulla Sharks at GIO Stadium. There’s some controversy around Jack Wighton’s try after half-time, being allowed to take a quick tap from a penalty close to the Sharks line.
  • Melbourne Storm come from 0-12 down to dominate the Parramatta Eels on their way to winning 36-24 at Suncorp Stadium. There’s injury concerns for Maika Sivo, Blake Ferguson and Cameron Munster in a brutal encounter.
  • The South Sydney Rabbitohs end the Newcastle Knights’ season with a 46-20 victory at ANZ Stadium. After trailing 0-14, the Rabbitohs score eight unanswered tries on their way to victory. Newcastle’s error rate in the second half kills their hopes of making it through to the semi-finals.


  • Penrith Panthers: Nathan Cleary three tries, four goals, one line-break, one try assist, 556 kick metres; Api Koroisau 48 tackles.
  • Sydney Roosters: James Tedesco 238 run metres.
  • Canberra Raiders: Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad 177 run metres, three line-breaks; Tom Starling 42 tackles.
  • Cronulla Sharks: Sione Katoa 203 run metres, Chad Townsend 346 kick metres.
  • Melbourne Storm: Ryan Papenhuyzen 225 run metres, two line-breaks, two try assists.
  • Parramatta Eels: Ryan Matterson 42 tackles, Mitch Moses 397 kick metres.
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs: Damien Cook 151 run metres, two try assists; Cameron Murray 36 tackles; Cody Walker one try, one line-break, two line-break assists, two try assists.
  • Newcastle Knights: Chad Randall 52 tackles; Mitchell Pearce 506 kick metres.


NRL-W ROUND 1 | Broncos and Roosters kick off opening round with strong wins


TEAM LIST TUESDAY NRL | NRL Finals Series Week 1


Qualifying Final Game 1

Penrith Panthers Vs Sydney Roosters




FINALS WEEK 1 MATCH REPORT | Penrith Panthers 29-28 Sydney Roosters

Elimination Final Game 1

Canberra Raiders Vs Cronulla Sharks



FINALS WEEK 1 MATCH REPORT | Canberra Raiders 32-20 Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks


Qualifying Final Game 2

Melbourne Storm Vs Parramatta Eels



FINALS WEEK 1 MATCH REPORT | Melbourne Storm 36-24 Parramatta Eels


Elimination Final Game 2

South Sydney Rabbitohs Vs Newcastle Knights



FINALS WEEK 1 MATCH REPORT | South Sydney Rabbitohs 46 – 20 Newcastle Knights



Player: Viliame Kikau
Club: Penrith Panthers
Opponent: Sydney Roosters
Incident: 8th minute, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
Charge: Grade 1, Dangerous Throw
Early Plea: 1 match ban.
Result: Pleading not guilty.

Player: Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
Club: Sydney Roosters
Opponent: Penrith Panthers
Incident: 21st minute, Dylan Edwards
Charge: Grade 1, Careless High Tackle
Early Plea: $850 fine.
Result: to be advised.

Player: Sione Katoa
Club: Cronulla Sharks
Opponent: Canberra Raiders
Incident: 44th minutes, Elliott Whitehead
Charge: Grade 1, Careless High Tackle
Early Plea: $550 fine.
Result: to be advised.

Player: Siosifa Talakai
Club: Cronulla Sharks
Opponent: Canberra Raiders
Incident: 53rd minute, Hudson Young
Charge: Grade 1, Contrary Conduct
Early Plea: $550 fine.
Result: to be advised.

Player: Marata Niukore
Club: Parramatta Eels
Opponent: Melbourne Storm
Incident: 27th minute, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
Charge: Grade 1, Crusher Tackle
Early Plea: 2 match ban.
Result: Early Guilty Plea – 2 match ban.

Player: Cameron Smith
Club: Melbourne Storm
Opponent: Parramatta Eels
Incident: 48th minute, Dylan Brown
Charge: Grade 1, Dangerous Throw
Early Plea: No ban.
Result: Early Guilty Plea – no ban.

Player: Chris Randall
Club: Newcastle Knights
Opponent: South Sydney Rabbitohs
Incident: 69th minute, Cody Walker
Charge: Grade 1, Crusher Tackle
Early Plea: 2 match ban.
Result: to be advised.

Other Articles

Translate »