2023 NRL Round 12: Eels 36, Rabbitohs 16

Andrew Pelechaty reviews the Friday night clash between South Sydney and Parramatta.


Parramatta Eels 36
Tries: (6) Bailey Simonsson 26th, 57th; Sean Russell 2nd; Bryce Cartwright 52nd; Dylan Brown 71st; Will Penisini 75th
Goals: (6) Mitchell Moses 3rd, 28th, 54th, 58th, 73rd, 76th

South Sydney Rabbitohs 16
Tries: (3) Alex Johnston 7th, 36th; Campbell Graham 47th
Goals: (2) Latrell Mitchell 38th, 48th

Embed from Getty Images


Parramatta were the first to score in the second minute – after a nice pass from the returning Mitchell Moses saw Sean Russell score in the right corner. Moses slotted the conversion for a 6-0 lead.

Alex Johnston appeared to hit back for Souths a few minutes later. But The Bunker ruled that Johnston didn’t ground the ball properly, with Clint Gutherson getting a foot to it first.

But Johnston quickly got his own back with a try in the left corner after a Latrell Mitchell one-on-one strip.

Parramatta scored through Bailey Simonsson for a 12-4 lead.

Johnston got his second try – again down the left – as Souths narrowed Parramatta’s lead to two. It was a crucial try just before the break.

Moses attempted a two-point field goal on half-time but missed.

Campbell Graham – who must be a huge contender for NSW Origin – scored off a slick scrum play seven minutes into the second half. Mitchell converted for a 16-12 lead to Souths.

Parramatta hit back through Bryce Cartwright from close range (off a Moses pass), with Moses’ conversion giving Parramatta an 18-16 lead with 25 minutes left.

Parramatta extended their lead with Simonsson’s second try, started with a beautiful Dylan Brown chip kick. It was cleaned up by Junior Paulo, who passed to Simonsson. 

With 10 minutes left, a Liam Knight penalty gave Parramatta valuable field position. The Eels marched up the field, with Brown pouncing on a Moses grubber just inside the dead-ball line. 

Will Penisini made sure of the win with a late try. And it was first time Souths have conceded more than 20 points this season.

It was an incredible performance from Parramatta after a frustrating loss to Canberra last week, with Brown winning the inaugural Eric Simms Medal tonight. It was Souths’ first loss since Round 5, breaking a six-game winning streak. 


Embed from Getty Images

3 – Mitchell Moses (Eels)
2 – Dylan Brown (Eels)
1 – Bailey Simonsson (Eels)

Subscribe to our weekly tips

We'll send you our weekly predictions once they're posted to NothingButLeague!

No spam, you can cancel at any time.

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »