Brittney Breayley wins Dally M Female Player of the Year

Broncos’ hooker Brittany Breayley has won the Dally M Female Player of the Year award for 2018, after a brilliant season in the NRL Holden Women’s Premiership.

Breayley’s form has been a large reason behind the Broncos’ undefeated road to the Grand Final, with an average of 61.1 running metres and 31 tackles per game, as well as three try-assists to her name.

Embed from Getty Images

The award was presented by a legend of the women’s game and the first NSW Captain, Tarsha Gale, who spoke of the days where her Jillaroos teammates sold raffle tickets to pay for their jerseys.

“They’re days that we would not change because they made us humble and they also made us very determined,” she said in a speech before giving out the award.

“It is history in the making. Make no mistake, when those girls run out they run out on the shoulders of giants, of hundreds of women who have gone before them.”

Embed from Getty Images

The Brisbane hooker is the first to win the awards after the induction of the NRLW, which has seen a change to the voting system. Warriors hooker Krystal Rota, Roosters winger Taleena Simon and Dragons centre Jess Sergis rounded off the top four nominees for the award.

“I’m extremely honoured to be standing here to receive this medal,” she said in her acceptance speech.

“I accept this award on behalf of all the girls and can’t wait to rip in on the field on Sunday. A huge mention to my family and friends back home, without your support I wouldn’t be standing here.”

Breayley is only the second Queensland player to win the award, with the previous winners being Simaima Taufa, Kezie Apps and Jenni-Sue Hoepper.


Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »