WOMEN’S NRL | NRL All-Stars Teams announced

The Women’s Indigenous and Maori Ferns teams have been announced, set to face off in a new-look All-Stars Match.

The two squads feature 16 players who have played in either the NRL-W or have international experience, as well as players from local or state competitions.

The Indigenous side has slightly more experience, with nine players who have participated in the NRL-W or international matches. While captains and exact positions are yet to be announced, they are expected to be lead by ex-Jillaroos Rebecca Young or Tallisha Harden. Other key players named in the squad include PNG Orchids Captain Jenni-Sue Hoepper, Roosters back Taleena Simon, and Dragons Star Shakiah Tungai, who recently shone in her Jillaroos debut.

Womens Indigenous 2019 side
Source: National Rugby League website

While they may have less experience, the Maori Ferns have named a strong and physical side. The side includes sisters Hilda, Kahurangi and Rona Peters, who were key players in the Warriors and Broncos NRL-W sides. The side also boasts Zahara Temara, whos move to halfback contributed greatly to the Roosters late-season comeback, and Warriors Hooker Krystal Rota.

Maori Women's 2019 side
Source: National Rugby League website

As the first match between the two cultures, this is set to be an exciting start to the season.

The Women’s NRL All Stars match is set to be held on Friday the 15th of February at 5:10 pm, with the men’s match kicking off at 8 pm. Tickets are still available here.


Subscribe to our weekly tips

We'll send you our weekly predictions once they're posted to NothingButLeague!

No spam, you can cancel at any time.

Other Articles

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate »